Use as GoPhone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by uRabbit, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. uRabbit

    uRabbit Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi all. A guy at our local AT&T store said we could use our iPhones as GoPhones, so long as we did not want data.

    Is this true? AT&T won't try to tack on a data plan when the SIM card tells their network what device I am using? I know this happens with Blackberries, so I am just wondering.
     
  2. Lon

    Lon Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    132
    I have used my 3GS as a GoPhone for over a year. No problems. Just go to Settings>General> Network, and turn off Cellular Data.
     
  3. uRabbit

    uRabbit Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nice. Also found a How-to on modmyi in case simply turning the data off does not work.

    Thanks. :)
     
  4. Lon

    Lon Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    132
    Do you have a link to that How-to?
     
  5. TheJustPull

    TheJustPull Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you still use wifi if you have it set up this way?
     
  6. Lon

    Lon Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    132
    Absolutely.
     
  7. uRabbit

    uRabbit Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Likes Received:
    2
  8. iPhone Development India

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have used my 3GS as a GoPhone but I have no problems
     
Similar Threads
  1. tylerdw89
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,801
  2. noho_2003
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    9,295
  3. fontana
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,317
  4. Nikkirri
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,440
Loading...

Share This Page