UTMS / SIM card problems!

duckfool

Jun 26, 2007
I was just told by ATT that you have a matched IMEI / SIM SN betwixt the devices, so you can't take the SIM out of the iPhone and put it into another GSM device!

I was also told that once you switch to the iPhone plan that the service is no loger UTMS compatable! So I can't switch the sim between my iPhone and HTC Hermes!

So once you get the iPhone data plan you are EDGE ONLY! NO UTMS! If this is true this is a catastrophic mis-step on Job's part. I'm a huge Apple fan, been one from the 80's but the great thing about GMS phones is if you destroy one you can just swap the sim, or in my case if you have antennas and amplifiers for one while you travel you just pop the sim into the other phone... if you can't do this with iPhone it's a looser... on hold with Apple right now... good grief.. I'm also 7th in line...

duckfool

Jun 26, 2007
Just passing it on, that's all

Your name says it all

I'm a wildlife photographer, I'm a fool for waterfowl, wow.. didn't expect such a terse response, just passing on what ATT told me... I'm waiting to hear from Apple, I mean I'm an Apple fan, but wow! that's harsh man...

robhon

Silver
Mar 17, 2007
I'm a wildlife photographer, I'm a fool for waterfowl, wow.. didn't expect such a terse response, just passing on what ATT told me... I'm waiting to hear from Apple, I mean I'm an Apple fan, but wow! that's harsh man...
Don't take it personally. There are a lot of people who come to this site and sign up just to say bad things about the iPhone. It gets pretty annoying after a while.

lucky8926

Bronze
Jun 16, 2007
Central IL
Please excuse ebrunn, we're all a little on edge today with it being iday, yes I said iday....LOL and there have been some people posting iPhone hate messages and since you are new to the forum he probably mistook you for one of them.... Welcome to ei!

duckfool

Jun 26, 2007
OH.