V1-To Sell Or Not To Sell..........

topcat84

Contributor
Bronze
Jun 28, 2007
Hi Guys !

I've had my 3GS for a month or so now, (Love It !), and can't decide whether to sell my V1 or not. I know it still has many uses, but I'm finding that with the new phone, it's basically sitting in it's box. What have most of you done with your V1 or 3G iPhone. I'm really leaning towards the cashforiPhones website. I could get $135 or so for it, and it wouldn't be gathering dust in it's box. I know I could probably get more through eBay, but I've never done that before and really don't want the hassle. I just want ideas on the pros and cons of keeping the V1 and I trust you guy's opinions. Cheers !

Woody1776

Bronze
Feb 26, 2008
DFW
I would say to put it on Craigslist. There's no sign-up and you can meet up and get cash instantly. Put on your add local sale only and cash only. No Trades. I've sold my V1 and my 3G on Craigslist with zero problems.

P.S. Always meet in a public place like a mall or something like that.

psylichon

Genius
Oct 31, 2007
Philly
Selling a v1 is hard to do these days. Not going for nearly as much as they did before the 3gs came out. I kept mine as a backup and sold the wife's for $200. What will you use f you ever damage your 3gs?

Also the v1 has been a lifesaver on my beach trip this week. The nieces and nephews love to play games and now my phone isn't tied up all day, draining its battery. :)

Europa

Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
Utah
I'd do the cashforiPhones. The value of the V1's has decreased quite a bit since the 3GS release, so you won't get much more than that selling it privately. If you do decide to sell it privately, be sure to avoid the all to common Nigerian Paypal scammers. Only ship to the verified Paypal address, if you can't find anyone locally to sell it to for cash.

Staszek

Bronze
Sep 24, 2007
I was going to keep mine, maybe give it to my mom to use as an iPod Touch.... but I ended up getting an offer for $250 so I took it.