Veency: The VNC server for iPhone (remote controlling)

Discussion in 'Cydia Apps' started by Lincoln, Sep 18, 2008.

  1. Lincoln

    Lincoln New Member
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've seen many threads asking if there is a way to control the iPhone's screen from a computer, and the answer was always no. Now, thanks to Jay Freeman (also the developer of Cydia and Cycorder) you can. Installing Veency allows you to control your iPhone from any Remote Desktop client on your computer.

    Apparently it works well, but definitely has room for improvement. I haven't gotten to play with it yet, but it's available for download now from Cydia.
     
  2. Rip

    Rip Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've installed it. How do I use it from a PC?
     
  3. Lincoln

    Lincoln New Member
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4
    Through any VNC client for Windows.
     
  4. Lincoln

    Lincoln New Member
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4
    Here's a quick video of it through Chicken on the VNC. Obviously, video response needs work.



    Hmm.. apparently we can;t embed Vimeo videos. [​IMG] Oh well, just click the link.
     
  5. cliffeman

    cliffeman Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Likes Received:
    80
  6. Rip

    Rip Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried using the iPhone name and IP address to connect with TightVNC and get nothing.

    What could I be missing?

    My TightVNC works fine for Jaadu on iPhone. I just can't connect the other way around for Veency.

    I've opened the port on my router and try to connect using 192.168.x.xxx:5xxx with no result.

    I understood that the server just runs in the background on the iPhone. Cydia shows that it's installed.

    I'm stumped!
     
  7. Lincoln

    Lincoln New Member
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4
    Try using the IP without :5xxx. I never use this, and my connection go through fine.
     
  8. Rip

    Rip Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.

    I've tried that. Same result. Same result from 2 different PCs as well.

    I'm right clicking on TightVNC in systray and choosing Add New Client...

    That's correct isn't it?

    One other thing, Veency does run on 2G 2.0? It installs OK.
     
  9. Lincoln

    Lincoln New Member
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4
    It shouldn't make a difference, but I'm running 2G 2.1. You should update if you want this badly enough and see what happens.
     
  10. Rip

    Rip Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I reinstalled it from Cydia and it's fine now. Really excellent in fact!
     
  11. carrera.owner

    carrera.owner New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. cliffeman

    cliffeman Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Likes Received:
    80

    I think it's going to vary for everyone, like having OpenSSH on all the time.
     
  13. Lincoln

    Lincoln New Member
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4
    Saurik said the next version will include a Settings pane that allows you to switch it on and off.
     
  14. carrera.owner

    carrera.owner New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Answers my question.....certainly would be a nice improvement.
     
  15. psylichon

    psylichon Genius
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Likes Received:
    751
    Question: What do you people do with this app? I'm having trouble imagining this being very useful except for presentation purposes...?
     
  16. Lincoln

    Lincoln New Member
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4
    Once video response gets better, it could be used for screen recording. Creating tutorials for an app or something you do on the phone would be much easier.
     
  17. Woods Legend

    Woods Legend New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a strange problem. I did everything successfuly and I was able to connect to my phone using my PC at home. However, I have an ipad in a different county with my brother and he jailreak it and installed veency. However, when I wanted to connect to that iPad, strangely the IP address is same as the one in my network here at home. Then how will TightVNC will connect to my iPad, if I put the same address it is connecting to my iPhone.
     

Share This Page