Voice Dictation

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by bkford, Oct 23, 2014.

  1. bkford

    bkford Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    Since the 8.1 update, I get a message when trying to use Siri or voice dictation. Really? Using the voice dictation means I agree to send information about my voice input, my contacts (??really??) and my location to Apple? If I don't agree, I can't use the voice dictation or Siri. I don't understand. Can someone explain?
     
  2. ricks2gtouch

    ricks2gtouch Zealot
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    161
    Its always been the case. They are just telling you about it now. If you use Siri to dial a number, it has to have access to your contacts, etc. Also, I believe a lot of the transcription is done remotely as well, so you are agreeing to send your voice transcriptions to them for that purpose.

    Someone else probably has a better explanation.
     
  3. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    971
    It's not a problem. It's like anything that uses your stuff on your phone. I have 15 apps using my microphone. I had to give them permission. I have over 60 apps using my photos. Keyboards. Etc.
     
  4. bkford

    bkford Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for good answers!
     

Share This Page