VoLTE on iPhone 6 and 6 Plus

Discussion in 'iPhone 6' started by ZR_Yancy, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Has anyone tested this out yet? If so, how does it sound? I understand it's HD quality voice. I think you have to enable it in the cellular settings (voice+data).
     
  2. Zzz

    Zzz Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Likes Received:
    35
    Thank you so much! I'm with Verizon and I had been looking for that setting. Just activated it and tested it. Sounds like a FaceTime audio only call, but better quality. I like it.
     
  3. ricks2gtouch

    ricks2gtouch Zealot
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    154
    Which carriers are supporting it at this point?
     
  4. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Both AT&T and Verizon state that using VoLTE will only pull from calling minutes and not from data. Only video calling will pull data.
     
  5. Zzz

    Zzz Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Likes Received:
    35
    I know Verizon rolled it out in the DFW area on the 17th. 2 days before the 6 & 6+ dropped.
     
  6. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Both AT&T and Verizon have rolled it out but it's not available in all markets yet.
     
  7. ricks2gtouch

    ricks2gtouch Zealot
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    154
    Ok. I have the setting enabled. Not sure what I need to do to actually make an LTE call.
    I did have a confused moment when my iPad starting ringing at me earlier saying I had a call coming in.
     
  8. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    That's it. Your calls should sound clearer. Especially if you call someone using VoLTE on their phone.
     
  9. Bunk009

    Bunk009 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Likes Received:
    2
    Has anyone experienced any dropped calls by enabling? I want to do it but was afraid it's in too much of an infant phase. Also, it won't cost us anything except minutes for voice and data for video?
     
  10. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Voice only uses minutes. Some are reporting slow download speeds when VoLTE (data+voice) is enabled.
     
  11. Bunk009

    Bunk009 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome thanks. Are you using it?
     
  12. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Unfortunately not. I'm still waiting for my iPhone 6+ to be shipped.
     
  13. Bunk009

    Bunk009 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hang in there! Worth the wait. You think you'll use it from the start?
     
  14. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    If it's available in my area, absolutely! If it sounds anything like FaceTime Audio call, It'll be my default method.
     
    #14 ZR_Yancy, Sep 21, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2014
  15. Zzz

    Zzz Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Likes Received:
    35
    I've been using it since the night of 9/19 and no problems with calls or download speeds. I talk to my brother who has a 6+ with VoLTE enabled and he's in a VoLTE enabled market. Like I stated in an earlier post, it's like a FaceTime audio only call, just a bit crispier/clearer. My brother also ageed. He actually enabled it while we were on a call. We hung up, he called me back with VoLTE enabled and he mentioned the noticeable difference in call/audio quality. I am liking VoLTE so far. :)


    Sent from my iPhone 6 using iCafe App.
     
  16. Bunk009

    Bunk009 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey so I was just recently on my iPhone and then hpened to glance at my iPad (after enabling lte voice and data) and it looked like the iPad was getting a call from my iPhone. Slid to answer and it said iPhone call failed. BUT what was that?!?! I don't even know what that was or what it should have been or will be
     
  17. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    It's because we can now answer and make calls on all devices if they are on the same Wifi Network, running iOS 8 or Yosemite and using the same iCloud account.

     
    #17 ZR_Yancy, Sep 21, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2014
  18. CASEACE79

    CASEACE79 Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Likes Received:
    42
    As of iOS8 you can make and receive calls from an iPad.
     
  19. ricks2gtouch

    ricks2gtouch Zealot
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    154
    OK, I didn't want to create a new thread for this because I think my issue is voLTE related. Three times since I have had this phone, I had call connection quality issues with my 6. I noticed that while on a call, the connection switched from LTE to 4G. While I don't remember my 5s doing this, it does make sense since I am not in a voLTE area. According to the AT&T HDVoice web page, it is currently only available in Indiana, Wisconson, Illinois and Minnesota. Anyway, in certain areas, the call connection quality really falls to where it is unusable. I have already reset my network settings, but it did re-occur.
    Now, I do know that some areas have crappy reception. I wouldn't bring this up just for that. These same areas do have a reduced signal, but I never experienced this problem with my 5s. I changed LTE to Data Only to see if this helps. I will test it out tomorrow.
    Has anyone else experienced any issues with call quality that might be related to the voLTE?
     
  20. Santa

    Santa Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Likes Received:
    115
    A bump on this.

    I'm about to order my phone. I was going to switch to AT&T: one of the big reasons being for voice/data at the same time. Is VoLTE regular/reliable enough on Verizon for me to think they also support voice/data now?
     

Share This Page