What case is best for my situation?

Discussion in 'iPhone Cases and Accessories' started by bams50, Nov 20, 2011.

1. bams50

bams50 Contributor
    Bronze

Just got a 4s. It's my only phone. I restore classic cars and am looking for the best protection I can find for use in the shop: dusty. sometimes cold/damp, paint fumes. Also answer calls, text, and navigate the 'net with dirty hands. Also, I intend to put it on and take it off frequently.

What do you all recommend? I'm thinking Lifrproof of course, but what else could fit the bill and maybe not cost as much? Rather not beat an $80 case to premature death;) But I'd rather ruin cases than the phone.

Recommendations?

2. Jmbaker429

Jmbaker429 Evangelist
    Gold

Otter box defender case. There are lots of threads with really good info on this subject. I use the otter box. I am a firefighter and an AC repair man. Put the phone through hell and even after I had the 3GS for two years I took it out and it looked like I just took it out of the box. Not a blemish on it.

3. dturner

dturner Zealot
    Gold

I would go with the otter box.

Sent from my iPad using iCafe app

4. furndaddy

furndaddy Contributor
    Bronze

Otterbox Defender

5. bams50

bams50 Contributor
    Bronze

Thanks. I just went to order one and looked at a review that said:

All the ports are properly lined up except for the earphone jack. It is off...way off.

So now I'm confused. Is this true? I want to be able to use earphones with the case on!

6. Jmbaker429

Jmbaker429 Evangelist
    Gold

it said that for the otter box case? If so I have one and know of a lot of people that do and haw never heard of any ports not being lined up. The otter box has always been fairly expensive but has always been worth it because of superior quality. I don't think you will see any problems. And if for some reason you do it has a really good warranty behind it.

7. Jarred

Jarred Contributor
    Bronze