What happens to music files after uninstalling iTunes?

Discussion in 'iTunes' started by jovencane, Oct 22, 2014.

1. jovencane

jovencane New Member

hello everyone

i am brand new to the apple world and i recently received an ipod.

i have a lot of music i want to synch onto the ipod.

but i was wondering what happens if i were to delete the itunes from my computer

because i heard that the files become unplayable by any other media except itunes.

2. Europa

Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

You don't have to use iTunes. If you were to delete it, your music would still play on the iPod. If you sync the music through iTunes, you have to use the Music app to play it. If you add the music to apps, you can use the apps to play it. You can delete iTunes if you want, though it would be much wiser to just stop using it. You'll still need it to restore if you ever have to restore and you'll still need it to update to full iOS versions if you ever plan on jailbreaking. Jailbreaking isn't compatible with OTA updates.

3. jovencane

jovencane New Member

sorry i don't quite follow.

i have a pc so i don't have any music app to play the music files. i'm thinking i should just use my backup pc for synching with the ipod.

4. Europa

Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

I guess I'm not following you, either. Why do you want to delete iTunes on your primary computer? It's best to use your primary computer since you probably won't keep the backup computer up to date.

5. jovencane

jovencane New Member

yes. this used ipod i received is a 'temporary' solution until my primary non apple phone is being repaired. i have a long commute and love listening to music on my way. this ipod was the only method of doing so.

as soon as i receive my smart phone, i plan on going back to it.

my question is if I would be able to. would my files post-itunes work on non apple products?

6. Europa

Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator