What happens when I “Like" a Tip? Does anyone besides me see it?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Rafagon, Apr 8, 2016.

  1. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Below each Tip, there’s a smiley face icon and the word “Like” which I can tap if like any given tip.

    If a Liked a Tip, who else besides me sees that I have Liked it?

    Further, I don’t see anywhere where it shows the total number of people who Liked the Tip shown, so it doesn’t seem to be there for purposes of showing the user how many people liked a Tip.

    IMG_1140.PNG
     
  2. RoofMonkey

    RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,032
    It's probably just to track what tips people like so they will, possibly, produce more & similar tips. ???
    But who really sees that you liked it?
    Big Brother of course!! They/He is ALWAYS watching ;)
     
  3. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    I was suspicious that would be it. So it’s basically useless for the user. Maybe there’s some small print somewhere about privacy policy where it explicitly states what they’re doing with our Likes.

    All those tips are on a website, too—over there, instead of “Like”, they have a "Helpful / Not Helpful" line where you can provide feedback.
     
  4. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    947
    I never use the Tip app. There's never anything there I don't already know. So I keep it in my "unused" folder with stocks and other apps I'd like to delete.
     
  5. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    947
    Where are you looking?
     

Share This Page