What Widgets Do You Have?

fsas06

Member
Silver
Oct 15, 2007
604
3
18
28
Las Vegas
#42
Has anyone made a custom launch icon for launcher? What did that consist of?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MrMike6by9

Evangelist
Gold
Nov 16, 2008
1,482
121
63
70
Maryland, USA
#43
I'll be looking at the info provided on the MacStories page referenced above. Are there any other places anyone can offer wherein one can learn how to program/set up apps like Launcher?

advTHANKSvance
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#44
Weather is the only widget I want right now. I would be okay with the stock one, but it doesn't always show the temp. Sometimes it just says "the high today will be x°. I'm still looking for a good weather widget. I installed one a couple days ago but didn't really like it.
 

Bennyboy

Genius
Platinum
Jul 21, 2010
14,017
1,756
113
PA
#45
Weather is the only widget I want right now. I would be okay with the stock one, but it doesn't always show the temp. Sometimes it just says "the high today will be x°. I'm still looking for a good weather widget. I installed one a couple days ago but didn't really like it.
Did you try the weather channel one?
ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1411745261.435453.jpg
 

Bennyboy

Genius
Platinum
Jul 21, 2010
14,017
1,756
113
PA
#46
Why do I keep getting reminded if I want to let apps using my location on the background? Can I turn that off?
 

Sassytallsista

Contributor
Bronze
May 22, 2010
312
54
28
Texas
#47
Why do I keep getting reminded if I want to let apps using my location on the background? Can I turn that off?
I hate this reminder as well.... searching now to see if there is a way to turn it off


Sent using iCafe app
 

Bennyboy

Genius
Platinum
Jul 21, 2010
14,017
1,756
113
PA
#48
Let me know, I haven't found anything.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#49

Bennyboy

Genius
Platinum
Jul 21, 2010
14,017
1,756
113
PA
#50
I checked that already, the weather alone as asked me 3 times in one week. Maybe it had to do with the update. Thank you.
 

Sassytallsista

Contributor
Bronze
May 22, 2010
312
54
28
Texas
#51
I checked as well, but toggled 2 apps to "always"just to see if that stops it.
 

chris

Administrator
Administrator
Jun 10, 2006
11,813
1,779
113
Long Island, NY
#52
I'm waiting for a few, very specific widgets. I'd like one from Nest, Philips Hue and SmartThings. I'd say the Hue and Nest are at the top of my list.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#54
I'm waiting for a few, very specific widgets. I'd like one from Nest, Philips Hue and SmartThings. I'd say the Hue and Nest are at the top of my list.
Oh, yeah! Philips Hue would be cool. I'd use that. I had a lock screen jailbreak tweak that took me right to it on my 5s.
 

MrMike6by9

Evangelist
Gold
Nov 16, 2008
1,482
121
63
70
Maryland, USA
#55
I was listening to the MacBreak Weekly podcast while walking The Boys this afternoon. Apparently, it's something that Apple decided to do. During the discussion about this and other annoyances of iOS 8, the implacation seemed to be that Apple decided to err on the side of keeping the user aware and informed along the lines of things that could be using too much of your battery life.
YMMV
 

Ledsteplin

Genius
Gold
Oct 29, 2013
4,843
997
113
65
Florence, AL
#56
Why do I keep getting reminded if I want to let apps using my location on the background? Can I turn that off?
I like that. I've been able to turn those off. I don't want apps running in the background. Some other alerts are annoying now. They offer too many options.


Sent from my ancient but trustworthy iPhone 5
 

Bennyboy

Genius
Platinum
Jul 21, 2010
14,017
1,756
113
PA
#57
So with 66 apps installed I gotta do this everyday? I'm not sure I'm liking it that much.
ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1411782830.785436.jpg
 

acosmichippo

Genius
Platinum
Sep 10, 2007
15,385
1,089
113
DC
#59
So with 66 apps installed I gotta do this everyday? I'm not sure I'm liking it that much. View attachment 38707
in my experience using the beta, it SHOULD only ask you once for every app that is using background services. If it's repeatedly alerting you about the same app, I think something isn't working right.
 

ZR_Yancy

Genius
Gold
Jul 11, 2008
3,982
737
113
Florida
#60
in my experience using the beta, it SHOULD only ask you once for every app that is using background services. If it's repeatedly alerting you about the same app, I think something isn't working right.
I have a photo frame widget and it fills the whole section. Why can't Yahoo! Do that?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1411786854.613037.jpg