What's your employer's policy on company WiFi?

Discussion in 'iPhone 5' started by PapaST, Apr 29, 2013.

1. PapaST

PapaST Member
    Bronze

I was curious what most smartphone user's employers had for a company wifi policy. Do they allow anyone to use it? Do they restrict it to certain employees? Or is it strictly off limits to employees? With so many people with smartdevices, I can imagine that they are starting to put a crunch on network traffic.

2. JWB

JWB Member
    Bronze

There really isn't any policy about wifi at my work

Sent using iCafe app on iPhone 5

3. ZR_Yancy

ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

It's restricted to certain employees but LTE is most likely faster than the corporates WiFi anyway.

4. Europa

Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

I work in a hospital. Free WiFi is available to patients, family members and staff. Cellular is often faster my area, but my signal strength is weak in the building so I typically use their WiFi.

5. hmfc-1874

hmfc-1874 Contributor
    Silver

I work In an events venue, it has wifi in the pub for the customers (punters), but In the event rooms, exchange and football pitches there is not wifi for customers but around the entire place there is staff wifi, we can go on anything we want too.
    There is wpa2 protection however.

Sent using a bottle of fairy liquid

6. ZR_Yancy

ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

I forgot to mention my workplace has free WiFi in the cafeteria which is available to all employees.

7. Tattooed Alex

Tattooed Alex Genius
    Gold

The WiFi at my office is locked down, but you can use your master login credentials to get on. The speed isn't the greatest, but it allows me to stream Sirius about 4 hours a day and not worry about using data so I can't complain.

8. iPutz

iPutz Zealot
    Silver