What's your employer's policy on company WiFi?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

PapaST

Bronze
Sep 10, 2007
I was curious what most smartphone user's employers had for a company wifi policy. Do they allow anyone to use it? Do they restrict it to certain employees? Or is it strictly off limits to employees? With so many people with smartdevices, I can imagine that they are starting to put a crunch on network traffic.

JWB

Bronze
Nov 8, 2011
There really isn't any policy about wifi at my work

Sent using iCafe app on iPhone 5

Europa

Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
Utah
I work in a hospital. Free WiFi is available to patients, family members and staff. Cellular is often faster my area, but my signal strength is weak in the building so I typically use their WiFi.

hmfc-1874

Contributor
Silver
Sep 10, 2011
I work In an events venue, it has wifi in the pub for the customers (punters), but In the event rooms, exchange and football pitches there is not wifi for customers but around the entire place there is staff wifi, we can go on anything we want too.
There is wpa2 protection however.

Sent using a bottle of fairy liquid

Oct 24, 2010
Denver, CO
The WiFi at my office is locked down, but you can use your master login credentials to get on. The speed isn't the greatest, but it allows me to stream Sirius about 4 hours a day and not worry about using data so I can't complain.

iPutz

Zealot
Silver
Nov 20, 2012
US Midwest