Which apps are gobbling up your data plan?

ZR_Yancy

Genius
Gold
Jul 11, 2008
3,982
737
113
Florida
#2
Just found a new and free app the will track your data usage. It will also break down how much data each app is using. It's called Onavo Count. Grab it before they put a price on it.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,507
113
Utah
#4
Just installed it. I imagine it will be pulled from the App Store soon or at least disabled by 6.0.1 since it installs a profile and requires your lock screen passcode (if you have one set). We had some pretty awesome settings toggles on 5.0, which also installed a profile and were a great SBSettings alternative since the 4S jailbreak wasn't out yet, but Apple quickly disabled them with a firmware update.
 

mrbunglez

Zealot
Bronze
Mar 20, 2008
439
100
43
#6
Downloaded that app awhile was good until it didn't let me load up a few of my apps, namely the FB app.
 

ZR_Yancy

Genius
Gold
Jul 11, 2008
3,982
737
113
Florida
#7
Just installed it. I imagine it will be pulled from the App Store soon or at least disabled by 6.0.1 since it installs a profile and requires your lock screen passcode (if you have one set). We had some pretty awesome settings toggles on 5.0, which also installed a profile and were a great SBSettings alternative since the 4S jailbreak wasn't out yet, but Apple quickly disabled them with a firmware update.
I can't imagine how Apple would have missed its function since it asks to installed a profile as soon as it is initially launched.
 

ZR_Yancy

Genius
Gold
Jul 11, 2008
3,982
737
113
Florida
#8
Downloaded that app awhile was good until it didn't let me load up a few of my apps, namely the FB app.
I didn't have any problems with FB after I installed Onavo. What OS were you on? Are you Jailbroken?
 

mrbunglez

Zealot
Bronze
Mar 20, 2008
439
100
43
#9
I didn't have any problems with FB after I installed Onavo. What OS were you on? Are you Jailbroken?
No jail break and it was awhile ago so prob an old OS 5.1? Not sure. Guess they fixed it.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,507
113
Utah
#10
I can't imagine how Apple would have missed its function since it asks to installed a profile as soon as it is initially launched.
Do you know if there are any other apps out there that require installing these profiles? It was just a guess based on Apple disabling the 5.0 settings toggles that used these profiles.
 

Iloveiphones

Genius
Platinum
Aug 5, 2010
6,237
234
83
chatsocially.com
#11
Do you know if there are any other apps out there that require installing these profiles? It was just a guess based on Apple disabling the 5.0 settings toggles that used these profiles.
The data compressing app, Snappli.


Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,507
113
Utah
#12
Thanks. Apparently, it wasn't the profile installation that caused Apple to disable the toggles then.