Which cell tower am I connected to?

iPutz

Zealot
Silver
Nov 20, 2012
964
183
43
73
US Midwest
Does anyone know of an app that will show information and location of the cell tower my phone is currently connected to? I have an un-jailbroken iPhone 5 on AT&T's network.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,404
113
Utah
You have to jailbreak to do this. There is an app in Cydia called Signal that shows you the nearby towers and which one you are connected to.

signal2-a.jpg
 

iPutz

Zealot
Silver
Nov 20, 2012
964
183
43
73
US Midwest
I was hoping for an app that would not require jailbreaking, but maybe I'll just have to break down and try it again. I did once about two years ago, on my 4S but didn't find any real advantage to it and did run into a couple of problems after about a month or so and went back to stock. Thanks Europa for the speedy reply.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,404
113
Utah
I was hoping for an app that would not require jailbreaking, but maybe I'll just have to break down and try it again. I did once about two years ago, on my 4S but didn't find any real advantage to it and did run into a couple of problems after about a month or so and went back to stock. Thanks Europa for the speedy reply.
I just checked and Signal 2 is not compatible with my 5s. I'm not sure if it's ARM64 incompatibility or 7.x incompatibility. It hasn't been updated recently, so it's probably 7.x that's not compatible. Which phone and firmware do you have? I can confirm that it works on the iPhone 5 on 6.x. It's $2.99.
 

iPutz

Zealot
Silver
Nov 20, 2012
964
183
43
73
US Midwest
It should work on my phone. I have an iPhone 5 running iOS 7.0.4. I appreciate the help. I'm not sure if I'll do JB or not but at least I know my options now. Thanks again.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,404
113
Utah
It should work on my phone. I have an iPhone 5 running iOS 7.0.4. I appreciate the help. I'm not sure if I'll do JB or not but at least I know my options now. Thanks again.
Yeah, it looks like it will work on your iPhone 5. I checked a compatibility list and it shows that Signal 2 is compatible with 7.0.4. It's just not compatible with ARM64 devices (iPhone 5s).

It's a cool app. I used Signal 1 on my iPhone 3GS a few years ago.