Why can't I restore the normal way after 3.0?

Hondamaker

Genius
Gold
May 14, 2007
9,946
671
113
56
Fairborn, Ohio
#1
I recently downgraded from 3.0. It went ok after I figured it out, but now when I want to just restore my iPhone, it wont let me. I keep getting error 1013, then it goes into recovery mode. What the eff?
 

patrickj

Genius
Gold
Sep 2, 2007
6,221
445
83
Austin, Tx
ipadinsight.com
#2
Because of the baseband upgrade that 3.0 gave you I think. That's non-reversible for now I think. That's why the iRecovery / Quickpwn steps were required in the downgrade process.

I found (on a Mac) that when I tried to skip the very last step in the Gizmodo downgrade guide (the Quickpwn portion) I could get 2.2.1 onto the phone and sync with iTunes etc, but as soon as I tried to reboot the phone it was stuck in restore mode.

Going through the Quickpwn part of things got past that issue for me ...
 

shutter13

Evangelist
Gold
Jan 8, 2009
2,201
144
63
#3
Yep, you can downgrade to 2.2.1 but you keep the upgraded baseband.