iPhone: About Gmail and Recent Mode Gmail is one of the email services that work with iPhone.
When sending Gmail from iPhone, the sent message will show up as a new message in your iPhone Inbox as if you have cc'ed yourself. If you don't want this behavior, try turning "Use Recent Mode" off.
Also note that only the last 30 days worth of Gmail will be viewable on iPhone. If you have an unread message older than 30 days that you want to read, try turning "Use Recent Mode" off.
To turn Recent Mode off, tap Settings > Mail > Your Gmail account name > Advanced, and turn off "Use Recent Mode."