Why Doesn't Google Documents work on the iPhone?

propynyl

Bronze
Aug 12, 2007
I'm not a computer programmar, so I don't quite understand why Google documents doesn't fully work on the iPhone? What would have to change in Safari for users to be able to not only view, but UPDATE documents on google docs?

Just curious...is it Java?

-propynyl

ps49556n

Silver
Jun 21, 2007
NYC
I'm not a computer programmar, so I don't quite understand why Google documents doesn't fully work on the iPhone? What would have to change in Safari for users to be able to not only view, but UPDATE documents on google docs?

-propynyl

I have noticed this too...for me the ability to view documents is more important than editing but I do agree that it is not fully-functional. I have a feeling that the Google Doc code and iPhone multitouch screen do not communicate properly...for example, when I try to do a regular double tap zoom, googledocs thinks i am trying to click an area I want to edit which causes safari to start loading something....

Google Docs and iPhone could be one of the most successful web apps if they fix these problems.

jbaraga

Bronze
Jun 26, 2007
Pittsburgh, PA
www.baraga.me
Officially, even Safari for PCs doesn't support Google Docs. I'm not sure why, but it is disappointing. As was suggested, on the iPhone it probably doesn't know how to differentiate between behaviors - double click would normally allow you to edit a cell, but on the iPhone, it zooms.

But I agree that getting Google Docs to work on the iPhone would be a tremendous benefit.

ps49556n

Silver
Jun 21, 2007
NYC
Officially, even Safari for PCs doesn't support Google Docs. I'm not sure why, but it is disappointing. As was suggested, on the iPhone it probably doesn't know how to differentiate between behaviors - double click would normally allow you to edit a cell, but on the iPhone, it zooms.

But I agree that getting Google Docs to work on the iPhone would be a tremendous benefit.