Wi Fi signal indicator . . .

Discussion in 'iPhone Jailbreak' started by michael180, Nov 11, 2014.

  1. michael180

    michael180 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    My iPhone 6 show's a number for the strength of the wifi signal. How do I change the number to the pie type indicator?
     
  2. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,476
    Is it jailbroken? Did you install something in Cydia that changed it or did you do it manually through iFile? Have you tried resetting your network settings?
     
  3. michael180

    michael180 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, it's jailbroken. No I haven't installed anything that would affect that, as it was that way before I jailbroke it. I reset network settings, and it works on the home screen, but as soon as I open an app, the number reappears?
     
  4. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    What packages have you installed from Cydia? Resetting Network settings wouldn't clear a graphical issue such as this.

    Thread moved.
     
  5. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,476
    Dial this number and press the home button afterwards:
    *3001#12345#*
     
  6. michael180

    michael180 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    No it still shows the number . . .
     
  7. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,476
    It sounded like you may have put it in Field Test Mode before you jailbroke, which can be done from a stock iPhone. Does it go back to the three-bar WiFi symbol when you tap it?
     
  8. michael180

    michael180 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    The only time I get the pie symbol is when I reset wi-fi settings, but then goes back to the number? When I dial the number and press the home button, nothing happens . . .
     
  9. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    What packages have you installed from Cydia - it's possible it may have appeared from a previous setup.
     
  10. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,476
    So tapping on the WiFi signal strenghth numberic indicator does not change it to the standard symbol? In that case, I'm thinking you used something in Cydia like SBSettings to enable numeric WiFi signal strength on your last phone and then it carried over when/if you applied your backup on the new phone. Did you have SBSettings on your last phone? When it is enabled, it only shows up in apps that are using WiFi.
     
  11. michael180

    michael180 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    Activator, Bloard. DockShift, f.lux, Hide Labels, SBFlip, VertialHome, Winterboard, Zeppelin
     
  12. michael180

    michael180 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't have SBSettings installed. My last phone was not jailbroken.
     
  13. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,476
    What I meant was did you have SBSettings on your last phone and did you apply your backup from the last phone on this phone? Did you have the numeric signal strength indicator on your last phone?

    EDIT: I just reread your post and saw that the last one wasn't jailbroken.
     
  14. michael180

    michael180 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    No I did not have SBSettings on my last phone, though my current phone was indeed restored from backup.
     
  15. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,476
    Okay. It probably carried over from your backup.

    Have you tried resetting all settings in the Settings app?
     
  16. michael180

    michael180 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    Activator, Bloard. DockShift, f.lux, Hide Labels, SBFlip, VertialHome, Winterboard, Zeppelin
     
  17. michael180

    michael180 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    It seems to work now, I think I'll leave well enough alone.
    Thanks all . . .
     
  18. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,476
    Tap on the WiFi symbol and make sure it doesn't come back. If it doesn't, dialing the Field Test Mode number probably worked but just took a minute to apply.
     
  19. michael180

    michael180 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    It stays on the home screen, but when I open an app it reappears, if I tap it, it goes to the symbol, but it's iffy.
     
  20. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,476
    That's exactly how the SBSettings activation method of WiFi Field Test Mode behaves. There are probably other Cydia apps that enable it as well, but if you can't find the one that enabled it on your last phone and install it on your new phone to reverse the settings that applied it in the first place and then carried over from your backup, you might have to reset all settings or restore to get rid of it completely. I would try the number again to be safe. I would activate Field Test Mode with the stock method and then disable it just to make sure that isn't going to work.
    http://www.iphonefaq.org/archives/971056
     

Share This Page