Wi Fi signal indicator . . .

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Sign up

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#2
Is it jailbroken? Did you install something in Cydia that changed it or did you do it manually through iFile? Have you tried resetting your network settings?
 

michael180

Zealot
Gold
Jun 14, 2007
1,249
3
38
Santa Cruz, CA
moderntimes.com
#3
Is it jailbroken? Did you install something in Cydia that changed it or did you do it manually through iFile? Have you tried resetting your network settings?
Yes, it's jailbroken. No I haven't installed anything that would affect that, as it was that way before I jailbroke it. I reset network settings, and it works on the home screen, but as soon as I open an app, the number reappears?
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
700
113
#4
Yes, it's jailbroken. No I haven't installed anything that would affect that, as it was that way before I jailbroke it. I reset network settings, and it works on the home screen, but as soon as I open an app, the number reappears?
What packages have you installed from Cydia? Resetting Network settings wouldn't clear a graphical issue such as this.

Thread moved.
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
700
113
#9
The only time I get the pie symbol is when I reset wi-fi settings, but then goes back to the number? When I dial the number and press the home button, nothing happens . . .
What packages have you installed from Cydia - it's possible it may have appeared from a previous setup.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#10
The only time I get the pie symbol is when I reset wi-fi settings, but then goes back to the number? When I dial the number and press the home button, nothing happens . . .
So tapping on the WiFi signal strenghth numberic indicator does not change it to the standard symbol? In that case, I'm thinking you used something in Cydia like SBSettings to enable numeric WiFi signal strength on your last phone and then it carried over when/if you applied your backup on the new phone. Did you have SBSettings on your last phone? When it is enabled, it only shows up in apps that are using WiFi.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#13
I don't have SBSettings installed.
What I meant was did you have SBSettings on your last phone and did you apply your backup from the last phone on this phone? Did you have the numeric signal strength indicator on your last phone?

EDIT: I just reread your post and saw that the last one wasn't jailbroken.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#15
Okay. It probably carried over from your backup.

Have you tried resetting all settings in the Settings app?
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#18
It seems to work now, I think I'll leave well enough alone.
Thanks all . . .
Tap on the WiFi symbol and make sure it doesn't come back. If it doesn't, dialing the Field Test Mode number probably worked but just took a minute to apply.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#20
It stays on the home screen, but when I open an app it reappears, if I tap it, it goes to the symbol, but it's iffy.
That's exactly how the SBSettings activation method of WiFi Field Test Mode behaves. There are probably other Cydia apps that enable it as well, but if you can't find the one that enabled it on your last phone and install it on your new phone to reverse the settings that applied it in the first place and then carried over from your backup, you might have to reset all settings or restore to get rid of it completely. I would try the number again to be safe. I would activate Field Test Mode with the stock method and then disable it just to make sure that isn't going to work.
http://www.iphonefaq.org/archives/971056