Wi-Fi sync....what the hell?

Discussion in 'iOS Software' started by MuddyPaws, Oct 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MuddyPaws

    MuddyPaws Zealot

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Likes Received:
    32
    You can't do a wi-fi sync unless the iPhone is plugged into power?

    What the hell is the point to that? I thought it was supposed to be wireless. If I have to get the cord to plug it into the wall, I might as well plug it into my laptop.
     
  2. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    You are absolutely correct. I was thinking this same thing today. That makes no sense. If it's wi-fi sync why would you need to plug it in?
     
  3. MuddyPaws

    MuddyPaws Zealot

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Likes Received:
    32
    Bet there will be a jailbreak solution for that pretty quickly.
     
  4. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    Maybe! We shall see. I am waiting for an Untethered JB because the Tethered JB is way too buggy. I had tons of issues today with it, so I restored and gave up trying.
     
  5. Target

    Target Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Likes Received:
    168
    Amen. I've already griped about that on the stinkers thread. Docs to Go syncs with a push of a button. Why not iTunes. Can't believe Apple was so short sighted.


    Target

    Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
     
  6. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    When I first read about the Wi-Fi Sync for iOS 5 before it even was released, I was excited. Now I'm not, because you still have to basically do everything you had to do before. One thing that is cool though is it syncs as you do the actions, for example if you move an icon it syncs it right then and there without you doing anything.

    But you still have to be plugged in.
     
  7. TheSnowman

    TheSnowman Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    6
    Might be a dumb question but does iTunes have to be running to sync wirelessly
     
  8. MuddyPaws

    MuddyPaws Zealot

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Likes Received:
    32
    I dunno. I had to plug the phone in to sync so I didn't try. I don't see me using wireless sync I guess.
     
  9. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    Of course. You have to plug your iPhone into your computer period which makes iTunes open and sync wirelessly as you're using your phone and downloading/moving apps.
     
  10. Tattooed Alex

    Tattooed Alex Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Likes Received:
    829
  11. acosmichippo

    acosmichippo Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    I can sync without being plugged in just fine (settings->General->iTunes Wifi Sync). They may have put a battery restriction on it like OTA updates; if you're below 50% battery power, it won't go.
     
  12. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    I don't like it as much as y'all don't.
     
  13. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    It says you must have your iPhone plugged in to power and connected to Wi-Fi for the Automatic sync with iTunes to work.
     
  14. acosmichippo

    acosmichippo Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1,089



    Not for me. I'm watching my iPhone sync without a wire right now.

    What is your battery percentage?
     
  15. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    iPhone Battery Percentage = 74%.
     
  16. acosmichippo

    acosmichippo Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    well, I don't know then, because mine is doing it.
     
  17. Tattooed Alex

    Tattooed Alex Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Likes Received:
    829
    Actually I don't mind it at all.


    Sent from my iPad using iCafe app
     
  18. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340

    The iTunes Wi-Fi Sync even says right on the settings that you need power source.

    Strange things have been happening lately.
     
    #18 MoneyMaker79, Oct 15, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2013
  19. acosmichippo

    acosmichippo Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    http://www.tuaw.com/2011/10/12/ios-5-features-wi-fi-sync/

    But they don't say what "enough" is...
     
  20. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    You CAN do wireless syncing without plugging in for power. Just manually sync it from settings. It only requires you to plug in to a power source if you want it to automatically sync.

    edit: you can't be too low on battery to do this.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page