Will I lose my jailbreak data?

Discussion in 'iPhone Jailbreak' started by Dylan Sutherland, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. Dylan Sutherland

    Dylan Sutherland New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay hello everyone im new :) and liking the forums so far.

    Now, i own an iPhone 3GS and is locked. I contacted Telstra and Apple and Apple is going to send me details on how to unlock it. First, how long would it take (they said 5-72 hours)?

    Next, they told me that i would have to re-sync when i get sent the details and to back it up (through iTunes) I really want to jailbreak it since the new untether for 5.0.1 is out, but just wondering if i back it up with the jailbreak, when i restore with the unlock etc. and i put the backed up data back on, would it keep the jailbreak?
     
  2. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    Once you restore or upgrade to a higher firmware or downgrade, you will lose the jailbreak.
     
  3. chris

    chris Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    Moved to jailbreak section.

    Thanks for joining Dylan!
     
  4. fijiman

    fijiman Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    64
    It's best to start from fresh when moving from 4.x.x to5.0.1 firmware.... not everything working on the lower firmware will automatically work on 5.0.1....when you re-jailbreak...
     
  5. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    I learned that the hard way. :)
     

Share This Page