Will upgrading to 1.1.1 deactivate my iPhone (see inside for details)

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Oct 12, 2007
Ok, I just got my iPhone today used so I am new to this whole scene. I eventually want to unlock my iPhone so I do not want to activate it through AT&T and what not. So heres the deal

The previous owner activated the iPhone when he bought it and then canceled his plan. Thus my iPhone is still activated, just has a sim no longer registered to AT&T in it. I have fully functionality of the phone as a result of this, apart from the obvious EDGE and calling features that will require a good sim.

My question is, if I update the phone to 1.1.1 (currently at 1.0 firmware) will it deactivate my iPhone, requiring me to reactivate whether through ATT or when I unlock. Or will it just simply update to the new firmware and be in the same state as it is now (full functionality - what the cell radio gives you).

Please help me out.

Swagger

Gold
Jul 9, 2007
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
web.me.com
Ok, I just got my iPhone today used so I am new to this whole scene. I eventually want to unlock my iPhone so I do not want to activate it through AT&T and what not. So heres the deal

The previous owner activated the iPhone when he bought it and then canceled his plan. Thus my iPhone is still activated, just has a sim no longer registered to AT&T in it. I have fully functionality of the phone as a result of this, apart from the obvious EDGE and calling features that will require a good sim.

My question is, if I update the phone to 1.1.1 (currently at 1.0 firmware) will it deactivate my iPhone, requiring me to reactivate whether through ATT or when I unlock. Or will it just simply update to the new firmware and be in the same state as it is now (full functionality - what the cell radio gives you).

Please help me out.