Will upgrading to Leopard delete everything on my Mac?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Sign up

inletdoc

New Member
Jan 11, 2007
39
0
0
#1
Will the leopard upgrade wipe everything of my mac, or just update it with the new operating system leaving all stored files and installed programs still there and functioning?

Thanks
 

Marianne

Zealot
Moderator
Jul 16, 2007
2,326
29
48
Massachusetts
marianneschultz.com
#3
you can choose what kind of installation you want when you upgrade to leopard. you can do an "archive and install" which means that all of your data is kept and leopard is installed "underneath" and you can re-apply your data and settings from tiger. or you can do an "erase and install" which does just what it says. i plan to do an erase and install (after backing up all of my data on an external hard drive, of course) since my macbook has been acting wonky lately (actually, for a while now) and repairing permissions, resetting the PRAM, and clearing caches via the terminal has not had any effect... :(
 

Lincoln

New Member
Gold
Aug 11, 2007
6,100
4
0
#4
It will be just like an iTunes update.
With iTunes, all your songs, videos and podcasts are copied over.
The same will go with Leopard.