Apple wouldn't be that rude. To make members download it, then say, oh sorry, you have to pay. You probably wouldn't be charged. Or they might to a limited time free,and then have them be free. But then if you get it after the time, you paySo what if I keep it and later on it becomes a paid feature. Will I be charged since its tied to my Apple id?
Yes, unfortunately, it will. The wipe feature is when you have given up hope of recovery and want to protect your information.A iPhones default settings have find iPhone turned off. So if my iPhone was stolen, the first thing I would want to do is wipe it. Then track the a-- hole down. But does the wipe feature reset the phone to factory standards? So would the wipe feature disable tracking?
If you don't have MobileMe, it's free for find my iPhone or find my iPad. You don't have to pay for MobileMe for this service, just sign into MobileMe with your Apple ID.Find my iPhone is free. Deleting the app will not make you end up buying it to reinstall it. Just redownload.
Find my iPhone uses your Apple iTunes log in ID. If you have Mobile Me, which you pay for, then you can use it for the Find my iPhone.
Bottom line, no cost and you can delete the app and redownload no cost.