MacBook Air Such a Mac Noob...

Youngbinks

Zealot
Gold
Jun 4, 2007
Atlanta, Georgia
Well, due to both of my Laptop PCs crashing in the same week (one is $1700 to repair, and I think the other one is simply too far gone) I went out and purchased a MacBook Air, and so far I am in love with it. However, I am a complete noob when it comes to operating on a Mac, it's been since 5th grade since I actually used one.
My questions begin with the program "Spaces". I have no idea what this does, and one of my Mac owning friends said he never used it so he doesn't know either. Also, my other Mac friend has something enabled so that when she moves her cursor over a certain corner, a program opens up (that she chose to be enabled by the movement), so does anyone know how I can do that?

Also, how do I create ringtones using Garageband? I thought I remembered hearing somewhere that Garageband users were able to create free ringtones and put them on the iPhone, but I could be mistaken.

As usual, any help is greatly appreciated.

patrickj

Genius
Gold
Sep 2, 2007
Austin, Tx
ipadinsight.com
I'm in your same boat - or maybe a slightly smaller, less expensive craft, but anyway - bought a MacBook last week, first time on a Mac in years as well.

Someone else will probably have a better explanation, but Spaces lets you group apps (e.g Mail and IM in one space, browser in another etc) and reduce desktop clutter, and toggle between various spaces with ease - see HERE for a good overview.

I also found Apple's Switcher 101 site quite useful for quick rundowns on various features and apps - it's at:
http://www.apple.com/support/switch101/

aggieman

Zealot
Gold
Jul 6, 2007
Dallas, TX