The iPad at work, how would you use it?

Akieta

Jul 16, 2009
Self explanatory title.

I work as a mechanic on the CH-47D Chinook Helicopter with the US Army, and currently i'm deployed within Iraq. I've been intrigued by the Ipad for a few different reasons, but the major one would be for our TM's. (Technical Manuals)

We are required to have the TM (Either a Laptop or Print-Out of the task) with us while performing maintenance on the Aircraft, which isn't always very effective. This is where the Ipad would be perfect for someone in my shoes. It would be amazing to not only have our primary TMs easily at hand, but to have any that could apply to our aircraft.

And given the chance to experiment, I'm sure there's a multitude of other ways in which the Ipad would be amazing due to Apps.

So my question of you, How would an Ipad play a role in your work environment?

The Apple

Zealot
Gold
Aug 2, 2007
Indiana
If syncing information from the iPhone/iPod touch to the iPad is feasible, I would be able to use it for transferring information for billing. If a program exists where you can collect data on the handheld in an excel sheet, and then transfer the information to the iPad, I would convert over to it. I am sure it will be possible at some point, if not already.

bsharp

Bronze
Jun 21, 2007
Atlanta, GA
I'm a freelance writer. I plan to use my iPad to edit the work I write on my desktop. Often, I print out a copy of a piece I'm working on and carry that with me so I can scribble a few comments when I get a break. I think the iPad will allow me to make the changes directly in the document and upload it to my computer to continue work.

I plan to get a bluetooth keyboard (or steal my son's keyboard) for more typing-intensive work.

Akieta

Jul 16, 2009